Hagaribommanahalli is one of the backward Taluks of Karnataka State

Latest News

About College...

Hagaribommanahalli is one of the backward Taluks of Karnataka State situated on the bank of river Tungabhadra in Bellary district. The major portion of Hagaribommanahalli Town is rehabilitated area of Mallapura Taluk, which lost its existence when Tungabhadra Dam was constructed near Hospet. This rehabilitated area is named as Ramanagara, an extension area of Hagaribommanahalli. The total geographical area of the Taluk is 977 sq.km.

The long standing demand of the public of Hagaribommanahalli Taluk was to have a Government First Grade College was fulfilled in the year 1985 with the efforts of the leaders of the Taluk, the Government of Karnataka sanctioned a Government First Grade College to Hagaribommanahalli. When college was sanctioned in 1985 Hagaribommanahalli was a small village having population of less than 25,000.

In 1994 our college got its own new independent and beautiful building on 6.23 acres of land. The land required for the college was donated along with Rs. 2lakhs by respected Sri. Gangavathi Venkataramana Shetty in his name and the college was named as “GANGAVATHI VENKATARMANASHETTY PANCHARATHNAMMA PADMAVATHAMMA GOVT. FIRST GRADE COLLEGE, RAMANAGARA, HAGARIBOMMANAHALLI”. The college building was constructed by Karnataka Land Army with the help of HKDB funds. The then Hon’ble Chief Minister of Karnataka Sri. M.Veerappa Moily inaugurated the “+” shaped building on 10th August 1994.

The College library, which is the main source of teaching and learning activities of the college has got good number of books. At present the Library has 25000 books with its own independent new building.

The College Development council was established in the year 1995. Now it is under the Chairmanship of respected Sri Bheema Naik S., M.L.A. of H.B. Halli (reserve) constituency.

Our college has a good greenery campus planted with trees and has sufficient play ground. The teaching faculty helps the office staff at the time of admissions and examinations. To help the smooth running of the college, several committees are formed. They are :

  • Admission Committee
  • Students welfare Committee
  • NSS Committee
  • Examination Committee
  • Cultural Committee
  • Library Committee
  • Sports Committee
  • Student counseling Committee
  • Red Cross Society Committee
  • Scouts and Guides Committee
  • Heritage club Committee
  • SC, ST Committee
  • Disciplinary Committee
  • IQAC Committee
  • NAAC Report Committee
  • WOMEN Committee
  • The teaching Staff willingly accepts these responsibilities and discharge their duties accordingly. Our college has well experienced professors and most of them have acquired Ph.D. and M.Phil. Degrees, NET \SLET qualifications and they are participating in seminars, refresher courses, orientation courses, Administrative Training ,Teachers Empowerment Training, state and national level conferences, workshops etc.

    The college has Two NSS units having a strength of 200 volunteers with two efficient and active program officers. Through these units, our students are involving in extracurricular activities and conducted 21 NSS camps in almost all backward villages.

    At present in our college 1144 students are studying in various courses. Majority of students are from rural areas. Since 1985 our students are participating in many University level sports, cultural and NSS activities. Many of our students are selected as University blues, and got medals and prizes in the University games and youth festivals. Our college has been accredited at the C++ on February 28, 2005 from NAAC.